Distinguished Faculty Awards

Distinguished Faculty Awards

Since 2011, the Faculty Advisory Committee has been honoring fellow faculty members for their contributions to our collective missions of excellence in education, research, diversity and inclusion, program innovation, service to the community and patient care.  All current BSD faculty (except current FAC members) are eligible to nominate and to be nominated for each of these awards.  We encourage you to consider the talented and exceptional colleagues in your midst, and nominate them for their accomplishments.  

2017 Award Recipients

Distinguished Leader in Diversity and Inclusion

Junior Award: Sonia Kupfer, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine
Senior Award: Monica Vela, MD, Professor of Medicine and Associate Dean for Multicultural Affairs, Pritzker School of Medicine

Distinguished Investigator

Junior Award: D. Allan Drummond, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Senior Award: Joy Bergelson, PhD, Louis Block Professor and Chair, Department of Ecology and Evolution

Distinguished Clinician

This award is designed to recognize excellence in clinical care as defined by compassion and advocacy for patients, reputation for medical expertise and clinical excellence.

Junior Award: Kamala Cotts, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine
Senior Award: Edward Garrity, MD, Professor of Medicine
Senior Award: Wendy Stock, MD, Anjuli Seth Nayak Professor in Leukemia, Department of Medicine

Distinguished Leader in Program Innovation

This award is designed to recognize outstanding faculty leaders who have developed innovative programs that have improved the quality of the BSD and/or the Medical Center.

Junior Award:  Megan Huisingh-Scheetz, MD and Katherine Thompson, MD, Assistant Professors of Medicine
Senior Award in the Clinical Sciences:  Cathryn Nagler, PhD, Professor of Pathology

Distinguished Educator / Mentor

This award is designed to honor members of our faculty for excellence in teaching and mentorship across our missions including: undergraduate, graduate and medical students, house staff, clinical fellows, and postdoctoral scholars. In addition to the letter of nomination from a faculty member, a letter of support from a student or trainee was also required. 

Clinical Sciences Award: Lolita Alcocer Alkureishi, MD, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Clinical Sciences Award: John Alverdy, MD, Professor of Surgery
Basic Sciences Award: Dorothy Hanck, PhD, Professor of Medicine

Distinguished Community Service and Advocacy

This award is designed to recognize contributions that have a direct impact on the community, leveraging institutional resources and collaborations for the betterment of the community.

Junior Award: Anna Volerman, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics
Senior Award: Bradley Stolbach, PhD, Associate Professor of Pediatrics

The Francis Straus Mentorship Award

Basic Science Award:  Matthew Brady, PhD, Associate Professor of Medicine
Clinical Award:  John Kress, MD, Professor of Medicine

Leadership and Good Citizenship in the Biological Sciences